Victoriana…

…and no Albert.  Never mind; the log fire is burning merrily, the candles are ready to light, Cook Old’s amazing table is completely hidden beneath all kinds of culinary delights.  The hounds are on the rug in front of the fire, and all I have to do is dress.

Much Victorian dress is a little too buttoned-up for me; I have therefore elected to appear as Ellen Terry when she played Lady Macbeth.  Perhaps a little altered here and there, and no real beetle wings, I must say, but green does rather suit me….

About ladygoodwinge

Chatelaine of Lawnder Hall, wife of Sir Fred, keeper of rare breeds of pig. I enjoy the occasional drink and have a penchant for emeralds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

123 Responses to Victoriana…

  1. Bramble says:

    Godiva! Darling, you look absolutely marvellous! A distinct look of the Ellen Terry’s if I’m not mistaken…

  2. Rosie says:

    You really do look wonderful, Godiva! Oh, and the food – Cook Old really has excelled herself for this evening – please pass on my compliments. I trust we’ll see her later though?

    • Rosie says:

      Are we the first to arrive? I thought you’d said 7.30 and I was worried that we might be a little late arriving…

    • ladygoodwinge says:

      Hello darlings, wonderful to see you both. Oh, well-spotted, Bramble – it is indeed an homage to the rather wonderful Miss Terry. And yes, Rosie, I have a feeling that although this is not a masked ball, Cook Old may well be appearing – uh – well, rather incognito. Although I suspect you may be able to spot her…

    • Bramble says:

      The Hall is so beautifully decorated – a tour de force. I suspect Maddie’s had a hand in all the evergreens and the massive logs on the fire. The massed candles give such a beautiful light, don’t they Rosie?

  3. spantrey says:

    Excuse me madam, may I take the guests’ coats? And I’d be happy to get your drinks, Sir and Madam?

  4. spantrey says:

    Let me refresh your glass, sir

  5. listenhere2 says:

    Good evening, everyone! Sorry I’m a little late – can’t stride out in this garb, you have to take tiny steps! Oh and isn’t the place a picture – you’ve outdone yourself as usual, Godiva. 🙂

    • listenhere2 says:

      Ooh yes, some mulled wine would be lovely, thank you. I do like the fruity fragrance – almost as much as the taste! Did they have mulled wine in Victorian times? I imagine they did, it seems a very traditional flavour with all those spices.

      • Bramble says:

        You look delightful, Lissa! I feel I must kiss your hand, at least..

        • listenhere2 says:

          Why Bramble, you certainly know the art of chivalry! A demeanor to match your elegant outfit! It’s enough to set a girl aflutter [giggles girlishly?] – I only wish I’d thought to bring a fan to hide my blushes, but I was rather more concerned with keeping warm. I should have known there’d be a roaring fire in the grate.

      • Rosie says:

        They almost certainly did have it then – because of the German royal family apart from anything else. Maybe even in mediaeval times too. Anyone know?

    • Rosie says:

      Lissa dear! You look lovely in that dress. They do hobble one a bit, don’t they?

  6. Sylvie Thredds says:

    Good Evening everybody – I’m so sorry to be so late. Sheila and her husband very kindly offered me a lift, and there was a little trouble with the car.

    • Bramble says:

      Good evening, Sylvie. You’re quite bewitching in that lovely dress..

      • Sylvie Thredds says:

        Why, Thank You, Bramble. I was quite pleased that no-one else wanted the plum coloured dress. It is a bit of a performance to put on, but it feels so elegant once everything’s fastened.
        You are looking very handsome tonight, I must say – in fact everyone has clearly taken a lot of trouble over their outfits – and come up with such a wide interpretation of the Victorians theme.

    • Rosie says:

      Hello Sylvie! You must try the mulled wine – it’s delicious!

      • Sylvie Thredds says:

        Mulled wine would be just the thing, Rosie – it was beginning to get a bit chilly out in the stationary car.

    • Sheila Clarke says:

      Oh dear, I’m so sorry, it’s our fault. Some mechanical problem that brought us to a grinding halt just outside the gates. It took Mr Clarke a little while to get it sorted, but we have finallymade it. I hope we haven’t missed too much of the fun.

  7. Hello! … Ooohh, yes please, Spantrey!

    Sorry I’m late everybody – I had to sort out a young man … and then I had a slight problem juggling my wellies with this dress… and what with keeping my dress out of the mud, carrying my shoes and trying to keep these roses on my head, I’m feeling rather breathless. This mulled wine is a bit of a cure-all though.

    What have I missed?

  8. ladygoodwinge says:

    Welcome, welcome, Lissa, Sylvie, Sheila – I’m sorry, I was called away by Cook Old (small kitchen crisis). Has Spantrey given you drinks and made you comfortable? And I’m so sorry to hear you had transport problems, darlings – what a bore! If it’s any trouble later, Spantrey will drive you home. Now, come and warm yourselves by this fire.

  9. ladygoodwinge says:

    Oh and Maddie too – the roses really are very fetching!

  10. ann boleyn says:

    Good evening, ladies and gentlemen.

  11. ann boleyn says:

    Er – you all look – the same, sort of. Like Victorian…I thought fancy dress meant we was all different?

  12. spantrey says:

    Sir, Madam – Madam – Madam – more mulled wine? Allow me to take that empty glass, milady.

  13. ladygoodwinge says:

    (Loud clapping of hands) Darlings, is it time we started our entertainments? I think we should start with a recital from Maddie on the skills required to sort out a young man! (tinkling laugh)

    • Rosie says:

      Indeed!

    • Oh Ha, Lady G! Sadly I’m rather embarrassed to admit that it’s far less exciting than it sounds … and not at all Victorian. In fact, as I don’t think I have any particularly appropriate skills, I was just thinking I’d take a seat over there and appreciate the talents on offer… If you see what I mean…

      • Rosie says:

        Maddie! You’ve decked yourself out in the dress and the roses and you mean to say you aren’t going to offer us a party piece?

  14. Rosie says:

    How lovely to meet you, Ann Boleyn! I believe this is the first time I’ve seen you?

  15. ladygoodwinge says:

    Er, yes, prob’ly. Good evening. Nice frock.

  16. Sheila Clarke says:

    (Whispered Aside)
    Mr Clarke is going to do his Stanley Holloway impression when he does his ‘turn’ – it’s a god job “With Her Head Tucked UnderneathHer Arm” isn’t in period 😀

  17. Sylvie Thredds says:

    Oh no, that wouldn’t be very tactful, would it 🙂

  18. Rosie says:

    Well, who’s to start then?

  19. spantrey says:

    Milady, should I hand canapes and drinks before we start?

  20. ladygoodwinge says:

    Good idea, Spantrey. And Lissa, where’s your friend Tronda? I though she was intending to join us this evening?

    • listenhere2 says:

      Yes, so did I…. I just texted her to remind her, in case she got the day mixed up, but no reply so far. She can be a bit, er, well, impulsive, the magpie instinct: if something glittery caught her eye, she’ll have been off after it. So I don’t think we should wait for her. With any luck she’ll turn up later.

  21. Rosie says:

    Shall I start now, then?

  22. ladygoodwinge says:

    Yes please, Rosie, that would be good.

  23. Bramble says:

    Well, Rosie and I thought we’d perform together. I’ll leave the room if I may, while Rosie makes her way to the lovely old Broadwood..

  24. Rosie says:

    Lady Goodwinge, ladies and gentlemen!

    Accompanied by my Dear Husband, playing the old harmonium in the Rear Hall, (I think you will just hear him) I would like to play to you, and sing, “The Lost Chord”.
    This moving poem was written by Miss Adelaide Anne Proctor and was set to music by Sir Arthur Sullivan.
    Will you please pass around the song sheets, so that you may all appreciate the beautiful words of Miss Proctor’s poetry.

    Are you ready Bramble?…. Thank you.

    Seated one day at the organ,
    I was weary and ill at ease,
    And my fingers wandered idly
    Over the noisy keys.

    I know not what I was playing,
    Or what I was dreaming then;
    But I struck one chord of music,
    Like the sound of a great Amen.

    It flooded the crimson twilight,
    Like the close of an angel’s psalm,
    And it lay on my fevered spirit
    With a touch of infinite calm.

    It quieted pain and sorrow,
    Like love overcoming strife;
    It seemed the harmonious echo
    From our discordant life.

    It linked all perplexèd meanings
    Into one perfect peace,
    And trembled away into silence
    As if it were loth to cease.

    I have sought, but I seek it vainly,
    That one lost chord divine,
    Which came from the soul of the organ,
    And entered into mine.

    It may be that death’s bright angel
    Will speak in that chord again,
    It may be that only in Heav’n
    I shall hear that grand Amen.

  25. listenhere2 says:

    Rosie’s that’s ––

  26. ladygoodwinge says:

    (Enthusiastic applause) Rosie and Bramble, that was superb! Wonderful!

  27. Sylvie Thredds says:

    Gosh! That was magnificent – it’s not often that Lissa is lost for words 😉

  28. ladygoodwinge says:

    Encore! Encore!

  29. Bramble says:

    Could you hear me in here? The Broadwood certainly can still make an impact, Godiva. So can Rosie, when she belts them out!

    Rosie, Darling – that was splendid 😉

    • Rosie says:

      Thank you Darling 😉 The harmonium was perfect, in the distance, but it struck just the right balance.

      Thank you ladies and gentlemen.. [elegant curtsey]

  30. Sheila Clarke says:

    Oh, very good, Rosie. I had no idea you had such a powerful voice – and Bramble played beautifully. Mr Clarke particularly enjoyed that.

  31. ladygoodwinge says:

    Well, and who is to be next? I agree Rosie and Bramble have set the bar rather high, though I’m certain there’s still great talent here. Sylvie, will you entertain us now?

  32. listenhere2 says:

    Oh, I’ve just had a text from Tronda. Something about a carriage wheel falling off and scattering Christmas cards – from which I gather she’s on her way. At some point!

  33. Sylvie Thredds says:

    Well. I feel a little inadequate after Rosie & Bramble’s great start to the proceedings, bu I’ll have a go at one I remember my grandfather singing at family parties long ago.
    The Mistletoe Bough

    • listenhere2 says:

      Also amazing, Sylvie. And rather suitable for our dramatic surroundings here. Do you have any Gothic hidden corners, Lady G?

  34. Sheila Clarke says:

    Ooh – I was taken by surprise when the lights went out. I wondered why you were whispering to Spantrey before you started!

  35. Bramble says:

    Such a sad and strange tale, Miss Thredds… Thank you.

    • Sylvie Thredds says:

      Thank you – I love the old Victorian parlour songs and poems, and the opportunity to hear or perform them is very rare. I hope you will be giving us “In The Workhouse” before the evening is out?

      So who has the next offering?

  36. Rosie says:

    Thank you Sylvie. That was beautifully done – and better sung unaccompanied too, I feel.

  37. Sheila Clarke says:

    Can I do mine next? It’s quite well known, and I’m worried that someone else might do it first.

  38. Sheila Clarke says:

    Right!
    Well, this is the popular Christmaspoem for children “A Visit From St Nicholas”. It was first published anonymously in 1823 but is generally thought to have been written by Clement Clarke Moore.

  39. Rosie says:

    Now, Bramble decided that he would find ‘The Workhouse’ tale rather too depressing for the assembled company and for himself. He has just popped out for a moment to do a quick change. After which, I will accompany him for another of his party pieces when there is a slight lull in the proceedings…

  40. Sheila Clarke says:

    I which case, can Mr Clarke do his ‘turn’ now? He’s getting a bit nervous about it.

  41. listenhere2 says:

    And at some point, can I do a turn? Your St Nick gave me an idea!

  42. Sheila Clarke says:

    Right, Mr Clarke has asked me to introduce him as, although he is happy to do his recitation ‘in character’ as Stanley Holloway, he is nervous about speaking as himself in such illustrious company.
    Some of the monologues of Marriott Edgar are very well known, and some less so. Mr Clarke is particularly fond of the ones featuring Sam Small, a soldier in Wellington’s army. The one he has chosen to recite is “Old Sam’s Christmas Pudding” as it is seasonal,

    u6zY

  43. Rosie says:

    Bravo! Bravo, Mr Clarke!

  44. Rosie says:

    Lissa! It’s your turn now! Ooh, I’ve got crumbs down me bodice… :-/

    • Rosie says:

      I seem to be losing my Victorian decorum… and my hair’s come down… I appear to have mislaid my feathers too..

  45. listenhere2 says:

    Well, all right. But has anyone noticed the electricity is doing funny things? I don’t know if it’s the ancient wiring here, or something stranger, but Lady G and the butler have gone to investigate and I wouldn’t be surprised if it crashed on us again. I did wonder whether perhaps we should adjourn and continue another time… especially as I think Maddie’s asleep over there… but I’m persuaded to make my contribution first!
    So… (fingers crossed)… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BCVnuEWXQcg

  46. listenhere2 says:

    Oh and by the way Lady G has left a message on Gmail, in case anyone hasn’t seen it yet. I’m not sure if it’s a cryptic clue or just to tell us not to be concerned about the fizzing light bulbs!

    • Sylvie Thredds says:

      I haven’t seen my mail today – but I think you might be right about adjourning, the fizzing light bulbs are a bit disconcerting. I’d have to leave soon anyway as I’m pretty tired, but would hate to miss anyone’s poem or song by doing so.

  47. Rosie says:

    Well, Bramble and Ann Boleyn are both completely rat-@rsed in the kitchen, with a bottle of BD on the table. I need to get him home. I have a flash lamp in the car so we’ll be alright.

    I hope Godiva and Spantrey manage to sort out the fuses..

    Good night everyone! Didn’t we have a good time?

  48. listenhere2 says:

    Yes! Isn’t it wonderful what we can do when we get together! Good night all, drive (or walk) safely.

  49. Sheila Clarke says:

    I’m afraid it’s already past our bedtime, and much as we have enjoyed the evening I don’t think Mr Clarke can keep his eyes open much longer. And I have to do the breakfast shift in the Coffee Corner at POAGS.
    If you are ready to leave, Sylvie, and no-one else is desperate to recite or sing, then we really must say goodnight.

  50. Sylvie Thredds says:

    Yes, I’m ready to go. Thanks everyone it’s been great fun.
    I hope to see you all around the village before Christmas – carol singing , maybe?
    Goodnight all!

  51. Oh, mmuurgh! Where am I? (Yawns inelegantly, rubs eyes, dislodges rose from right eyebrow and peers cautiously around from depths of Knole sofa… Memory stirs…)

    Oh, Lordie!! I slept through it all. I remember lovely music drifting through my dreams and then… nothing…. This is a very snuggly blanket, though. Bless Lady G and her love of cashmere. (Smiles sleepily, tucks feet up, re-arranges cushions and drifts off again..

  52. Pingback: W/beg 12th Dec … The comfort of friends… | This is the Diary of Maddie Fingers…..

Leave a comment